This universal vow is the vow which the Bodhisattva Avalokiteshvara made, acting as representative of all Bodhisattvas. We are told of this in chapter 7 of the Lotus Sutra. The term Bodhisattva means “Enlightened Being”. Avalokiteshvara (Sanskrit) is better known to us as Kanzeon, Kannon, or Kwannon in Japanese, or also as Kuan Yin in Chinese. This being is known as the Bodhisattva of compassion. He hears the sound of the world, that is to say the sighs of the beings that are suffering, and he reacts to them. In the course of the Buddhist history this figure has changed it’s gender a few times; was temporarily depicted as woman and then again as man, or without explicit gender features. It is not a historical being that once really lived.

With this vow he made, Avalokiteshvara committed himself on not entering Nirvana, on renouncing the final liberation of  reincarnations, as well as reaching Buddhahood until all sentient beings are led to liberation from suffering. This fundamental attitude is the great ideal in the Mahayana Buddhisme, to which also our Zen school belongs. By way of contrast the Hinayana Buddhisme, also called Theravada Buddhisme, emphasizes the individual liberation, the personal entering of Nirvana.

Each time when we start Zazen at our Dojo we recite the Heart Sutra, the Great Light Dharani, and at the end the Four Great Vows:

However innumerable all beings are, we vow to save them all
However inexhaustible delusions are, we vow to extinguish them all
However immeasurable Dharma teachings are, we vow to master them all
However endless the Buddha’s way is, we vow to follow it

These Four Great Vows are in their meaning identical with Avalokiteshvara’s vow. They are adapted to the feeling of us practicing humans to be still far away of Buddhahood. Out of this feeling, and being honest, it seems to us completely impossible to fulfill these vows. Nevertheless we repeat them over and over again. They are none other than the complete expression of our intrinsic Buddhanature. Whenever we recite these vows wholeheartedly, and decide to try to fulfill them as best as we can, at this moment we are none other than Buddha. To live this attitude, no matter what happens, without if, or when, means to be liberated from suffering, to be liberated from separation. This attitude lets us dissolve into the whole, lets us overcome the narrow and limited views of the individual and egoistic being. Exactly in this lies the immeasurable depth of these vows which we recite again and again. May our compassion extend over the whole universe and become deep as the ocean.      

The word Sesshin is used in Zen cireles for a period of time in which the
practice of Zazen (sitting meditation) is conducted as the main occupation of the participants.
Sesshin can last something between 1 and 10 days, and the hours of Zazen
practice during a Sesshin day can vary between 8 and 16 hours.

The word Sesshin literally means:
Se = to touch, to get in close contact;
Shin = our heart-spirit (our original, true being).
So Sesshin means to make
the utmost effort to get in close contact, to become aware of our innermost
true being. This true being, our heart spirit, is always within us. From there
we are alive, from there our heart is beating and our liver is functioning.
And from there our senses perceive, and from there our compassion arises.
These vital abilities we usually take so much for granted, that we ignore
them. We are much more interested in what we perceive and whether we
like it or not. And the daily battle we fight to get what we like, and to avoid
what we don’t like lets us forget about our most inner being. When we are
able to return to this inner home, all struggles are forgotten. And we will be
able to enter again daily life – renewed, refreshed and with a sense of
unshakable trust in our self, that is to say, in our true being, that has
nothing to do with what we have learned at school and during our
professional career,

To overcome our intense fascination for the play with our likes and dislikes
strict discipline is asked for, Therefore Sesshin is always strict and
demanding in discipline. Zazen practice is nothing else than the effort
needed to get away from our entangled mind, which circles around the
qualities of the circumstances we live in, and which tries to get control of
them to our advantage, again and again. When we return to our true being,
we learn to accept things and circumstances as they are. We learn not to
fight against what is, but to live in harmony with the universe and
ourselves. Zazen means to ignore our thoughts and follow our breath deep
into our unconscious. Down there, well protected from our attempt to
consciously control everything, lies this treasure, the well, from which our lives
spring. In itself it is everlasting, serene, and seemingly empty – but full
with potential

 

Mountain is Mountain, Water is Water

Commentary:

When we start to practice Zen as beginners, it is completely natural for us that a mountain is a mountain, and water is simply water. With time, if we conscientiously continue to practice and our insight into the real nature of the universe deepens, we come to the view that a mountain is not really a mountain. It looks like a mountain, we call it a mountain, but in its true nature it is “empty”, has no real existence. The ordinary, relative view on phenomena gets joined by an absolute view, in which things appear as empty, as just perceived forms, just like a film on a screen, or a Fatamorgana. In the course of our practice we switch constantly back and forth between these two views, until with time a holistic vision takes over which embraces and combines both aspects. Then we can agree from our deepest heart, and with profound understanding to:

MOUNTAIN IS MOUNTAIN – WATER IS WATER!

 

Everlasting Pure Wind

Commentary:

There is a Zen saying:
A cool wind blows softly through our mind – no matter what happens.
No matter what happens – a cool wind blows softly through our mind.
This “wind”, what is it? We know the Kôan of the flag that moves with the wind. The monks discuss whether it is the wind that moves the flag, or whether it is the flag that moves with the wind. The master tells them: “It is your mind that moves!” Basically neither the wind, nor the flag, nor the mind moves. This “basically” is the everlasting pure wind, which brings forth the countless phenomena in a wonderful and mysterious way. It blows without blowing. It blows through us and through the whole universe and moves all things, without beginning – without end. When we surrender completely to its blowing, everything is all right as it is. Then a cool wind blows softly through our mind – no matter what happens.

 

White Clouds fluat, float

Commentary

The clouds in the sky! Constantly they are changing, moving and they stay ungraspable, and without solid substance. Sometimes they are lovely, but sometimes they are dark and seem to be threatening, or even dangerous. We advice the beginners in Zen to treat their thoughts like clouds; to let them come and let them go, without doing anything with them. Here the clouds stand as a metaphor for our thoughts, our opinions, our judgments, our ideas, our hopes and wishes, and our illusions. Ceaselessly they float through the empty sky of our consciousness. It requires much practice to just let them come and let them go. Often they appear to be fascinating and interesting, and we are tempted to interfere with them, to pursue and further develop them. When we are able to let it be, and to stay patiently and persistently with our breath, then they calm down. Then we become stable and firm, and get into a deeply rooted calmness and composure. This state is called Samadhi.
On a much deeper level, all phenomena, that which we perceive with our senses as reality, can be seen as clouds, coming and going, moved by the “Everlasting Pure Wind”. Everything is impermanent, everything is changing, and nothing lasts forever. The Diamond Sutra ends with the following beautiful verse, which expresses in a poetic way this vista:

So I tell you:

All composite things are like a dream,
a fantasy, a bubble and a shadow,
are like a dewdrop, and a flash of lightning.
They are thus to be regarded.

– And so you should

Think in this way of all this fleeting world:
As a star at dawn, a bubble in a stream,
a dewdrop, a flash of lightning in a summer cloud,
a flickering lamp, a phantom and a dream.

 

Fundamentally not a thing exists

Commentary:

Normally we are convinced that the world, and also the sun, the stars and the moon exist, because we perceive them with our senses. But if we look at this in a honest, sober and accurate way, we have to admit: All we have at first is just this perception; we see, hear, taste, smell and feel. Only in a second step we interpret what we perceive and call it, following the common consensus, a tree, or a car, or whatever. Only with this step the perception becomes a “thing”. It becomes so to speak independent, different and apart from other “things”, or perceptions, and also from the perceiver. In deep Samadhi, in the depth of our own unconscious, we can become One with the surrounding, the situation, the “things” that are around us. In this state the perception, what is perceived, and the perceiver cannot longer be differentiated. Anybody who has made this experience of being One, knows about the deep feeling of “coming home”, which arises within ourselves at that moment; knows about the recovery that comes with it. Within this absolute connectedness with the boundless universe, and all the phenomena that arise in it, actually “not a thing” exists. Whether we human beings know it or not: Our heart deeply longs for this being in the good hands of the absolute connectedness.

Nichi nichi kore kôjitsu
Every day is a good day

Master Unmon said to his disciples, “I do not ask anything about your spriritual condition before the fifteenth day of the month, but tell me something about it after the fifteenth day of the month.” Nobody answered. So Master Unmon geve the answer for us all: “Every day is a good day.”
On the fifteenth day of the month, according to the lunar calendar, there is a full moon, which implies clear enlightenment. “After the fifteenth day of the month” means after such realization.
As for “Every day is a good day”, many are deceived by “good” and think that good is the opposite of bad. Thus, many think that “good day” means happy, beautiful day. Unmon, however, did not mean it that way. Unmon’s “good day” is far more profound. He was pointing to right here, right now, unprecedented, unrepeatable, absolute day. A good Kôan for us all is: “What kind of day is this?”
I would like to add my own comment here. From the enlightened point of view, from the absolute point of view, every single moment is as it is, and cannot be otherwise; and every day is as it is, and cannot be otherwise. No matter how we perceive the day – as boring, rainy, awful, splendid, happy or sad a.s.o. – we cannot escape it’s suchness. To fully accept each moment, to fully accept each day as it is, this is the key to “every day is a good day”. Things are as they are, and so are the moments and the days. This “as they are”, or “as it is”, means in itself “good”, far beyond good or bad. Zen practice is the practice of radical acceptance.

The Master (Rinzai) addressed the monks, saying: “Followers of the Way, as to Buddha-Dharma, no artificial effort is necessary. Just be natural, don’t strive (*Buji).

Shitting, pissing, putting on clothes,
Eating food, and lying down when tired.
Fools may laugh at me, but the wise understand.

A man of old said:

If you seek something outside yourself,
you are a great fool.”

_______________________________________________

*Buji: Nothing to do, to be free from contrivances, to be all done. He or she, who has nothing to do, is the noble human being.
From the translator’s notes:
Bu means no, or negation. JI is event, matter, action, phenomena, affair, or thing. Literally Buji means to negate all Ji.(…) When we completely realize the true nature of the universe, what seems to be Ji is, in fact, none other than Buji. There is nothing to do, no matter how hard we try. From a slightly different perspective, the closest English word to Buji is now, or as-it -is. Right now, can you improve now-ness, or as-it-is-ness? Of course not. At this moment, can you or your circumstances be otherwise? When you understand that the present moment is all there is, you have no choice but to come to a radical acceptance, and it is this radical acceptanc which is none other than true peace and composure. Buji means to be one with suchness, the unconditional nature of “let it be”, with nothing wanting, nothing superfluous.

In Zen Kreisen wird das Wort Sesshin benutzt um eine gewisse Zeitspanne zu bezeichnen, während der Zazen (Meditation im Sitzen) die Hauptbetätigung der Teilnehmer ist. Ein Sesshin kann zwischen 1 und 10 Tage dauern, und die Zeit, während der Zazen praktiziert wird an einem Sesshin Tag, liegt zwischen 8 und 16 Stunden.

Das Wort Sesshin bedeutet wörtlich: Se = berühren, in Kontakt kommen; Shin = unser Herz-Geist, unser ursprüngliches, wahres Wesen. So heisst Sesshin also die grösstmögliche Anstrengung zu machen um mit unserem innersten wahren Sein in engen Kontakt zu kommen, bzw. uns dessen gewahr zu werden. Dieses wahre Wesen, unser Herz-Geist ist immer schon anwesend in uns. Aus ihm heraus sind wir lebendig, aus ihm heraus schlägt unser Herz und funktioniert unsere Leber. Und aus ihm heraus nehmen unsere Sinne wahr, und aus ihm heraus strömt unser Mitgefühl. Diese lebendigen Fähigkeiten halten wir normalerweise für so natürlich und selbstverständlich, dass wir sie ignorieren. Wir sind viel mehr daran interessiert Was wir wahrnehmen, und ob wir es mögen oder nicht mögen. Im alltäglichen Gefecht kämpfen wir darum zu bekommen was wir mögen, und zu vermeiden was wir nicht mögen. Darüber vergessen wir unser innerstes Sein. Sind wir aber fähig zu diesem inneren Sein heimzukehren, dann sind alle Sorgen vergangen. Und wir können dem Alltag erneut begegnen – erfrischt, erneuert und mit unerschütterlichem Selbstvertrauen. Das heisst Vertrauen in unser wahres Wesen, welches nichts zu tun hat mit dem, was wir in der Schule, oder in unserer beruflichen Laufbahn gelernt haben.

Um die intensive Faszination mit dem Spiel unseres Anhaftens und Ablehnens zu überwinden braucht es strenge Disziplin. Darum sind Sesshin immer streng und fordern grosse Disziplin. Das Üben von Zazen ist nichts anderes als die Anstrengung, die nötig ist, um uns zu lösen von unserem verstrickten Geist, der um die Qualität der Umstände kreist, in denen wir leben, und der versucht Kontrolle über sie zu erlangen zu unserem Vorteil, immer und immer wieder. Wenn wir zurückkehren zu unserem wahren Wesen lernen wir Dinge und Umstände zu akzeptieren wie sie sind. Wir lernen, nicht zu kämpfen gegen das was ist, sondern in Harmonie mit dem Universum und uns selbst zu leben. Zazen heisst unsere Gedanken zu ignorieren, und unserem Atem zu folgen, tief in unser Unbewusstsein. Dort unten, gut geschützt vor unseren Versuchen alles bewusst  kontrollieren zu wollen, liegt der Schatz, die Quelle, von der unsere Leben hervor fliessen. In sich selbst ist diese immerwährend, heiter und scheinbar leer  –  aber voll von Möglichkeiten.

Berg ist Berg – Wasser ist Wasser

Kommentar:

Wenn wir als Anfänger mit der Praxis des  Zen beginnen, dann ist für uns ein Berg ganz selbstverständlich ein Berg, und Wasser ist einfach Wasser. Mit der Zeit, wenn wir gewissenhaft üben, und sich unsere Einsicht in die wahre Natur des Universums vertieft, kommen wir zu der Ansicht, dass ein Berg nicht wirklich ein Berg ist. Er sieht aus wie ein Berg und wird so genannt, aber seiner wahren Natur nach ist er „leer“, hat keine wirkliche Existenz. Dasselbe gilt für das Wasser. Neben die gewöhnliche, relative Sicht auf die Erscheinungsformen, gesellt sich die absolute Sicht, in der die Dinge als leer erscheinen, als bloss wahrgenommene Formen, wie etwa ein Film auf der Leinwand, oder eine Fatamorgana. Im Laufe unseres Übens springen wir dauernd von der einen Sichtweise zu der anderen und zurück, bis sich mit der Zeit eine umfassende Schau einstellt die beide Aspekte vereint. Dann können wir aus tiefstem Herzen, und mit profundem Verständnis bejahen:
BERG  IST  BERG – WASSER  IST  WASSER!
Oder wie es das Herz Sutra ausdrückt, welches wir ja immer und immer wieder rezitieren:
Shiki Fu I Ku; Ku Fu I Shiki; Shiki Soku Ze Ku; Ku Soku Ze Shiki!
Form ist Leere; Leere ist Form; Form ist genau Leere; Leere ist genau Form!

 

Immerwährender Reiner Wind

Kommentar:

Es gibt ein Zen Sprichwort:
Ein kühler Wind weht sanft durch unseren Geist – ganz gleich was geschieht.
Ganz gleich was geschieht – ein kühler Wind weht sanft durch unseren Geist.
Dieser „Wind“, was ist das? Wir kennen das Kôan von der Fahne die sich im Wind bewegt. Die Mönche diskutieren darüber ob es der Wind ist der die Fahne bewegt, oder ob es die Fahne ist die sich im Wind bewegt. Der Meister sagt ihnen: „Es ist euer Geist der sich bewegt.“ Im Grunde bewegt sich weder die Fahne, noch der Wind, noch der Geist. Dieses „im Grunde“ ist der Immerwährende Reine Wind, der all die unzähligen Erscheinungsformen auf wunderbare und geheimnisvolle Weise hervorbringt. Er weht ohne zu wehen. Er weht durch uns und das ganze unendliche Universum hindurch und bewegt alle Dinge, ohne Anfang – ohne Ende. Wenn wir uns seinem Wehen überlassen ist alles in Ordnung, so wie es ist. Dann weht ein kühler Wind sanft durch unseren Geist – ganz gleich was geschieht.

 

Weisse Wolken ziehen, ziehen

Kommentar:

Die Wolken am Himmel! Immerzu verändern sie sich, sind in Bewegung, bleiben unfassbar und ohne feste Substanz. Manchmal sind sie lieblich, manchmal aber auch drohend und erscheinen gefährlich. Den Anfängern im Zen raten wir, dass sie ihre Gedanken beim Zazen behandeln sollen wie die Wolken; sie kommen lassen und auch wieder gehen lassen, ohne mit ihnen etwas anzufangen. Da stehen die Wolken also für unsere Gedanken, unsere Meinungen, unsere Urteile, unsere Ideen, unsere Wünsche und Hoffnungen, und unsere Illusionen. Pausenlos ziehen sie durch den leeren Himmel unseres Bewusstseins. Es braucht sehr viel Übung sie einfach kommen und gehen zu lassen. Oft sind sie faszinierend und interessant, und wir erliegen der Versuchung uns mit ihnen zu beschäftigen, sie zu verfolgen und weiter zu spinnen. Gelingt es uns das bleiben zu lassen, und geduldig und beharrlich bei unserem Atem zu bleiben, dann beruhigen sie sich. Wir selbst werden stabil und gefestigt, kommen in eine tiefgründende Ruhe und Gelassenheit. Dieser Zustand wird Samadhi genannt.
Auf einer wesentlich tieferen Ebene aber können die Erscheinungsformen, das was wir mit unseren Sinnen als Wirklichkeit wahrnehmen, als Wolken gesehen werden, die kommen und gehen, von dem „Immerwährenden Reinen Wind“ in Bewegung gehalten. Alles ist unbeständig, alles verändert sich, nichts bleibt wie es ist. Das Diamant Sutra endet mit dem folgenden wunderbaren Vers, der auf poetische Art diese Sichtweise ausdrückt:

Also sage ich dir:

Alle zusammengesetzten Dinge sind wie ein Traum,
eine Fantasie, eine Luftblase und ein Schatten,
sind wie ein Tautropfen und ein Blitz.
So sollten sie betrachtet werden.

– Und ebenso solltest du

Diese vergängliche Welt auf diese Weise betrachten:
Als einen Stern in der Dämmerung, eine Luftblase in einem Fluss,
einen Tautropfen, einen Gewitterblitz in einer Sommerwolke,
eine flackernde Lampe, ein Trugbild und einen Traum.

 

Grundsätzlich existiert nicht ein Ding

Kommentar:

Normalerweise sind wir überzeugt, dass die Welt, und auch die Sonne, der Mond und die Sterne existieren, weil wir sie mit unseren Sinnen wahrnehmen. Wenn wir aber ehrlich, nüchtern und genau diese Sache betrachten, dann müssen wir sagen: Alles was wir erst einmal wirklich haben ist eben diese Wahrnehmung; wir sehen, hören, riechen, schmecken, spüren. Erst in einem zweiten Schritt interpretieren wir das Wahrgenommene, nennen es der allgemeinen Übereinkunft folgend einen Baum, oder ein Auto, oder was auch immer. Erst mit diesem Schritt wird die Wahrnehmung zu einem „Ding“. Sie verselbständigt sich sozusagen, unterscheidet und trennt sich von den anderen „Dingen“, bzw. Wahrnehmungen, und auch von  dem Wahrnehmenden. In tiefem Samadhi, der Versunkenheit in unserem eigenen Unbewussten, können wir Eins werden mit der Umgebung, der Situation, den „Dingen“ die uns umgeben. In diesem Zustand sind unsere Wahrnehmung, das Wahrgenommene, und wir als die Wahrnehmenden nicht mehr voneinander zu unterscheiden. Wer je diese Erfahrung des Eins Seins gemacht hat, weiss um das tiefe Gefühl des „nach Hause Kommens“, welches sich dabei einstellt; weiss um die Erholsamkeit dieses Zustandes. In dieser absoluten Verbundenheit mit dem grenzenlosen Universum und all den Erscheinungsformen, die sich darin zeigen, existiert tatsächlich kein einziges „Ding“. Ob wir Menschen es wissen oder nicht: Unser Herz sehnt sich zutiefst nach diesem Aufgehobensein in der absoluten Verbundenheit.

Nichi nichi kore kôjitsu
Jeder Tag ist ein guter Tag

Meister Unmon sagte zu seinen Schülern: “Ich frage nicht nach eurem geistigen Zustand vor dem fünfzehnten Tag des Monats, aber sagt mir etwas darüber nach dem fünfzehnten Tag des Monats.” Niemand antwortete. Also gab Meister Unmon die Antwort selbst für uns alle: “Jeder Tag ist ein guter Tag.”
Nach dem Mondkalender erscheint am fünfzehnten Tag des Monats der Vollmond, welcher als Sinnbild steht für klare Erleuchtung. “Nach dem fünfzehnten Tag des Monats” meint also nach einer solchen Verwirklichung.
In Bezug auf “jeder Tag ist ein guter Tag” sind viele getäuscht durch das “gut”, und denken, dass gut das Gegenteil von schlecht ist. Darum denken viele, dass “guter Tag” ein glücklicher, schöner Tag bedeutet. Unmon jedoch hat das nicht so gemeint. Unmons “guter Tag” ist viel tiefsinniger. Er weist hin auf gerade hier – gerade jetzt, noch nie dagewesener, nicht wiederholbarer, absoluter Tag. Ein gutes Kôan für uns alle ist: “Was für eine Art Tag ist das?”
Ich möchte hier meinen eigenen Kommentar anfügen. Vom erleuchteten Standpunkt, vom absoluten Standpunkt aus gesehen ist jeder einzelne Moment so wie er ist, und kann nicht anders sein; und jeder Tag ist so wie er ist, und kann nicht anders sein. Ganz egal wie wir diesen Tag wahrnehmen – als langweilig, regnerisch, schrecklich, grossartig, glücklich oder traurig u.s.w. – wir können seiner Soheit nicht entfliehen. Jeden Moment voll zu akzeptieren, jeden Tag voll zu akzeptieren so wie er ist, das ist der Schlüssel zu “jeder Tag ist ein guter Tag”. Die Dinge sind so wie sie sind, und so sind auch die Momente und die Tage. Dieses “so wie sie sind”, oder “so wie es ist” bedeutet in sich selbst “gut”, weit über gut und schlecht hinausgehend. Zen Praxis ist die Praxis radikaler Akzeptanz.

Der Meister (Rinzai) sprach zu den Mönchen: „Ihr, die ihr dem Weg folgt, bezüglich dem Buddha-Dharma ist keine künstliche Anstrengung erforderlich. Seid einfach natürlich, bemüht euch nicht (*Buji).

Scheissen, urinieren, Kleider anziehen,
Nahrung essen, und wenn müde sich hin legen.
Narren mögen mich auslachen, aber die Weisen verstehen.

Ein alter Weiser sagte:

Wenn du etwas ausserhalb deiner selbst suchst,
Bist du ein grosser Narr.

__________________________________________________________________
*Buji:  Nichts zu tun, frei sein von Absichten, alles erledigt haben. Die Person, die nichts zu tun hat, ist der edle Mensch.

Aus den Anmerkungen des Übersetzers:
Bu bedeutet nicht, oder Verneinung. Ji meint Event, Angelegenheit, Tat, Erscheinung, Affäre oder Ding. Wörtlich bedeutet Buji alle Ji zu verneinen. (…) Wenn wir die wahre Natur des Universums vollkommen erkennen, sehen wir, dass Ji in Wirklichkeit nichts anderes ist als Buji. Es gibt nichts zu tun, ganz gleich wie sehr wir uns bemühen. Von einer leicht anderen Perspektive aus gesehen lautet die getreueste Übersetzung von Buji Jetzt, oder so-wie-es-ist. In diesem Moment, kannst du Jetzt-heit, oder so-wie-es-ist verbessern? Natürlich nicht. Gerade jetzt, kannst du, oder können deine Umstände anders sein? Wenn du verstehst, dass der jetzige Moment Alles ist was es gibt, dann hast du keine Wahl als zu einer radikalen Akzeptanz zu finden. Und es ist diese radikale Akzeptanz die nichts anderes ist als wahrer Frieden und echte Gelassenheit. Buji bedeutet Eins zu sein mit Soheit, meint die bedingungslose Natur von „Let it be“ (lass es sein), nichts wollend, ohne Überflüssiges.